Skip to content

a cup of Palace Coffee

April 9, 2013

When my husband, Jacob Furr, visited a friend in Canyon, TX last year I did not expect him to even mention coffee much less be really excited about it. He called me from Palace coffee and said that I had to come out here because of how passionate they were and how delicious everything tasted.  They have shows here so he’s visited a couple more times but I had yet to go. I’ve met Patrick Burns, owner of Palace, at AVOCA and interviewed him for Barista Stories so I was really excited to see his shop. Its a beautiful space, well designed and showcases their coffee, while also having a music stage in the back and providing an excellent place to study or chat with friends, which is necessary as its a college town. This is not an easy balance but they struck it well.

While you can order a fast, large batch cup of coffee, you can also experience their pour over station where Palace brews their coffee with a different method each week. They had the Chemex, Aeropress, Woodneck drip and a few others on display. The Rwandan Musasa was aeropressed for me and the sweet lemon notes stood out with great body and a toffee finish. Rob, who is pictured making the aeropress below, is a competing barista so meeting this challenge every week helps develop his palate and skills while giving the customer the best coffee. They are going to prepare it as a chemex next week and I got to try one of the cups. I also really enjoyed the “one and one” espresso option. They used a splitter for a double shot so I could try the espresso alone and with steamed milk. Their coffee is roasted by Evocation Roasters, who I am very excited to visit on our next trip up into the Panhandle. The Rwandan and the Costa Rican Violeta I tried are both directly sourced by Thrive Coffee.  This partnership allows small cafes to know who is growing their coffee beans at a price that reflects the quality and work that goes into the cup. AVOCA works with Thrive as well and it was so interesting to see how different the coffees tasted. These innovative but simple ways of sharing coffee and its complexity with their customers have spread Specialty Coffee to a place you might not expect.

IMG_9561

IMG_9547

IMG_9551

IMG_9552IMG_9560

IMG_9559

IMG_9571

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2013 6:59 pm

    This place looks awesome. I will definitely have to make a detour through Canyon next time I’m driving up north!

  2. April 9, 2013 7:00 pm

    Wow, looks awesome! I will definitely have to make a detour through Canyon next time I drive through the area.

  3. Jordan Ford permalink
    April 10, 2013 4:12 pm

    I live in Canyon, Tx and I have to say that Palace is the best spot in town, their shows, and local artists who are allowed to show and sell their art there. It’s truly a fantastic place and I love going when I can!

  4. max white permalink
    April 14, 2013 12:29 am

    Just the best place in the world, I’m the one sittin in the corner with sun glasses on my head, thanks for the story,

Leave a Reply

