Skip to content

a cup of oak cliff coffee roastery

August 1, 2011

a friend recommended oak cliff coffee roasters when i said i was looking for high quality roasters and cafes in DFW.  i googled them immediately and i was won over by their story of roasting at home and leaving burlap bags of beans on people’s doors as they tested out their early product. now 3 1/2 years in they’re still leaving bags on their neighbor’s doors but they also supply cafes like  the crooked tree, urban dog, lighthouse, and even
central market in fort worth, while direct trading with a growing number of farmers.

direct trade drives oak cliff roasters and was the main topic of discussion, as their goal is to use 70% direct trade beans by this coming year. this is a difficult endeavor for such a small roaster. with the expense of travel, the higher cost of specialty beans and the risk involved with such a tenuous crop. when we asked why they choose to work with farmers directly, he said simply, it was the best way to do business. that when you look a farmer in the eye and see where the beans come from you’re guaranteed the best microlots, you know how the workers are treated and you’re giving the farmer incentive to continue to innovate and work hard to produce a delicious product.  shannon, a former accountant, definitely has a business mind combined with a way with his roaster that i think will take them far.

last monday Shannon, De-Andra and Jason invited us into the building where they roast. it used to house the Dallas power and light operation. now a lawyer works upstairs and they occupy the first floor of the open, loft style, brick building. as we sat down over a cup of french pressed coffee, we tried a bright lemony yirgacheffe and a sidamo that burst with blueberries, the conversation was fluid and natural.  Shannon loved to talk about the early years, roasting over an adapted gas grill in his garage. the memory  brought a laugh but he was definitely relieved that he has moved on to two USRC roasters, a 5 kilo and an 18 kilo. with two coworkers De- Andra working with marketing and Jason taking on some of the roasting,  he anticipates furthering his travels to the farms and has a vision for the roastery that puts him at the forefront of third wave roasting.

  another big goal for this year is their move to a permanent roasting location a couple blocks from their current one that will include a  cafe. There Shannon will brew coffee in experimental ways from the aero press to the pour over as a training lab and a showcase for  wholesale cafes. he plans to use cutting edge methods to  reveal the value of multiple brewing options.

and to further prove to you how delicious their coffee is we’re having a giveaway here at a cup of texas. comment below, leaving an email address of course, throughout this week stating your favorite way to enjoy a cup of coffee and the winner will receive their own burlap bag of oakcliff coffee roaster’s beans.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 5:59 pm

    I have been drinking counter culture coffee for years, but recently I find myself drawn more and more to the goodness of oak cliff! Why? Well, that’s easy, I can tell you that every time I have had the privilege of having a cup of Oak Cliff, the consistencies of flavor are just as abundant as the surprisingly numerous ways of how it compliments everything from my breakfast, lunch, and that perfect evening brew that just really seems to hit the spot 😉

    Thanks for the blog update! Look forward to seeing how this bean will continue to grow!

  2. August 1, 2011 9:50 pm

    I begin the day the same way every day, about 5:45, before the sun is up. I put water on to boil, and take a shower. I make 2 cups of coffee in a French Press. Then I go out on my deck, I fill the feeders, recite the ancient words of the Sh’ma Ysrael, and write in my journal. In the winter, the steam for the coffee rises, and I enjoy the aroma. In the Summer, I sip the hot coffee from my favorite mug, a commemorative cup, from Camp Pushmataha in Alabama, where I used to camp. Great start to the day.
    bholston@sullivanholston.com

  3. August 2, 2011 12:21 am

    I’m always looking for new coffee adventures and love the philosophy behind oak cliff! My favorite way to enjoy a cup of coffee is slowing in a comfortable chair with the Hubby sipping away too. French press with a splash of soy is the only way to go! jdcareer74 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  4. August 2, 2011 6:34 am

    i still use the bonmac that i broke at readers, and i have a hand mill for grinding, but i make sure nothing else about my method resembles being in a cafe. the bigger the pour spout the better, and no scales or timers in sight! days off really are golden to me.

    sadie

  5. August 2, 2011 12:02 pm

    I have my coffee the same way every morning. I make 2 or 3 cups in a french press. I fill the feeders, watch the house finches, recite the Sh’ma and write in my journal. When it’s cold, the coffee steams in the cold air. My favorite cup is a mug I bought in 1970 at Camp Pushmataha.
    bholston@sullivanholston.com

  6. August 2, 2011 12:46 pm

    hmmm… my favorite way to enjoy a cup of coffee? that’s easy, while reading your blog!
    How do you take those amazing pictures… keep it up, can’t wait for more
    We need to go and check out the places that oak cliff roasters supplies to together
    rdmosley1@gmail.com

    🙂

  7. August 3, 2011 2:59 pm

    Love the photos! If the Oak Cliff Coffee is as good, I’d like to try it.

  8. Sara Reyes permalink
    August 3, 2011 3:46 pm

    Black, in my favorite mug and early, before my kiddo wakes up. Or at our local coffee shop. Their lattes are divine.

  9. August 4, 2011 5:19 am

    I like my coffee with dessert and friends after a satisfying dinner. Or alone on a chilly Saturday morning while wrapped up in a blanket with a good book. However, I find myself drinking it most often while studying or trying to get inspired at work. manago.bianca@gmail.com

  10. Ryan permalink
    August 5, 2011 3:53 pm

    My favorite way? Awkwardly in front of a crowd. I’ve gotten in the habit of packing up a french press, hand-grinder, beans, and backpacking stove into a small backpack and finding somewhere outside of the home to have my coffee. The interactions that occur are amazing and quite inspiring, both to me and the people that I interact with. I’ve made coffee in the park early (and late), on a bench on the side of a semi busy street, and even outside of a department store (I slept outside of REI for an early sale that was going on). The location varies, but what doesn’t is that every time I get to share my own passion with someone else who may have never realized that coffee could be such an experience!

    impulse.fx@gmail.com

  11. Hannah Evans permalink
    August 5, 2011 6:43 pm

    Love, the photos, Christina! I think my favorite is just strong and freshly brewed with half &half (but I also love lattes)!

  12. Joanna permalink
    August 5, 2011 6:54 pm

    I love the iced coffee from one of your previous posts, Christina. With some sugar in the raw and milk it is delicious!

    joannamcginn@gmail.com

  13. August 5, 2011 9:05 pm

    holy cow! wait, when did they start roasting here? this is where i got married Jan 1 this year! O.o wow.

Trackbacks

  1. a cup of magnolia « cupoftexas
  2. a cup of cold « cupoftexas

Leave a Reply

